Spanish Artist Paqui Romero on Statism & Freedom!

paqui romero, interview, artistPaqui Romero is an artist who is quickly becoming well known in the libertarian / voluntaryist / anarcho community for her stunning portraits of great philosophers and thinkers. Some of her work features Ludwig Von Mises, Murray Rothbard, Larken Rose, Tom Woods, Lysander Spooner, Henry David Thoreau and much more. However, this talented artist also has an impressive portfolio of beautiful landscapes, still lifes, Japanese architecture, fantasy images and numerous pieces that captures the beauty of life itself. Libertopia Design recently had the privilege of catching up with Ms. Romero, and chatting a little bit about her as an artist, and what inspires her work. Enjoy!

Hello Paqui! To start things off, would you mind sharing with us all a little bit about your involvement as an artist? 

PR: What I paint is very realistic. For many that is not so creative, but I don’t paint for others. I mainly paint to please myself (oops!). It started when I was a small child and it is kind of addictive because I can’t stop! Partly as a challenge to make objects look as real as I can and partly to escape reality and create my own. It soon became my own realm. There are literally no limits but those in your mind: If you can conceive it you can draw it. It has always gone along with my philosophy of life as rules are only a guide, but ultimately you create your own rules, you are responsible of yourself. Sitting in front of a blank paper means anything is possible.

For many years I have done mainly portraits because I thought that was technically the biggest challenge. I thought if I could make it feel alive, then I would be trained for anything else. I have also done all kind of stuff that you can see in my page; I don’t think I have a favorite topic. I love exploring any technique or discipline. I think I am adventurous and art is for me an opportunity to play and enjoy.

paqui romero, vintage carHave there ever been any particular writers, speakers, books, movies etc that helped raise awareness of libertarian issues in your life? How would you describe this process?

PR: First of all I still don’t know well what ‘libertarian’ means but I think my father is one of the main influences for me to seek for my own way to do things. He is quite unique and does not follow the crowd. At first I thought that it was natural that I am the way I am, considering that I am his daughter, but amazingly I have four siblings and we are all completely different from each other at this respect. So maybe I was prepared to learn from him in my own way.

He prefers living in the country and we moved from a flat to a farm when I was a kid. I made my house here and here I feel free. I literally feel that I am out from the loud city and that this place is ruled by us and nobody else has the right to tell us how to live our lives. He does not vote either and although our ideas about society and politics are not identical (I am more radical) I can tell that they have much in common.

paqui romero, larken roseSo, the process of my awareness as I became an adult went from “let’s see what we have here…” (expecting a society run by adults with reasonable common sense) to “oh, shit! No thanks!”. And that was disappointing as I skipped a good part of my childhood seeking for what I expected the adult world would be: Less childish by definition. but no, the bigger people are, the bigger their misconceptions seem to be.

My spiritual-intellectual nurturing came from reading classic philosophers. Asian philosophy is the closest to the way I think, but I am very careful not to say that I belong to this or that discipline as I am “myself” and I don’t even quite know what I am nor what I think and this is something that keeps evolving.

I was a teenager when I started reading them and I was so pleased to discover that I wasn’t crazy! I just thought for myself like those people who wrote those books… And I have never felt lonely again. Krishnamurti is the one I have read most but not the only one. He claims that you rely on yourself and no one else.

I have also read a lot about psychology and sociology in order to understand human behavior because I have been so puzzled by it all the time. Now I kind of understand that people don’t make much sense most of the time.

To me this is a period of decadence just like any other at the end of a period of maturity as a society. I was quite happy as a young adult with the way things were in Spain, but the growing oppression is coming from the State together with the economy as I mature as a person and I can not tolerate this abuse that people in general seem to be happy to assimilate in their lives.

paqui romeroDo you have any unique experiences so far through creating art for the libertarian / voluntarist community?

PR: I am just starting in this community and I am very happy to say that I recently got involved in a beautiful project. It is a cartoon with Alice and the Mad Hatter as characters where anarchism and voluntarism are explained in the form of dialogues and that aims to be used in home schooling.

Apart from that I am creating a series of portraits of relevant people in the anarchist, voluntarist frame and as part of that I have drawn the team of the Seeds of Liberty podcast, as promotion in conjunction with getting interviewed for one of the team-members own podcast, Danilo Cuellar, Peaceful Anarchy podcast.

What might your goal be for the future working in this area?

PR: Cartoons and illustrations are getting my interest these days. I think it can be the perfect way to link the creativity in the field of images that I so much enjoy, with communicating ideas that deserve to be spread. It can also give me the chance to work with other people and then I will enjoy sharing ideas with other members of the team. After working alone for so long that sounds refreshing. So, if someone have an interesting idea, maybe we should speak and put hands on it!

paqui romero, gardenAny recommendations on how liberty-minded people could get involved in their community as a positive influence?

PR: Think of what you can do by yourself, something you are good at, something you can offer. Think that we people have the power. The State does not build roads, airports, schools… people do. There is no crisis, there is abundance: just look around. Especially now that we enjoy an exceptional technical development, anything is possible. Don’t think in terms of money, but in terms of real tangible things. Only think about the ideas that empower you, not the ones that artificially restrict you and your actions. Think by yourself and analyze everything, you will understand that there is so much that can be done.

The internet is a huge tool that we still can’t conceive how much it can help us in this task. We should explore it more. But also let’s create local networks around us and exchange more. That will make us stronger!

If you would like to learn more about Paqui Romero’s amazing artwork, you can find her on facebook or check out the following:

Also, don’t forget to take a look at our libertarian artists page for more great artist interviews and artwork from a variety of different artists in our community! You can also check out Libertopia’s own artwork page here, or download our 60 page art ebook at Libertopia: Collection One!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

